Updates for a Monday

Hey, gang.  As I’m sure you know by now, Boston Comic Con was in fact forced to cancel at the last minute, due to the manhunt that took place in Boston and the neighboring area on Friday.  My understanding is that the organizers of the con are hoping to be able to reschedule, and ask for everyone’s patience and understanding as they work toward this.  On the bright side, many guests of the con who had already flown in wound up at various other sites on Saturday, such as Comicazi, signing and sketching for free.  I wasn’t able to go to any of these, but I hope some of you did—if you were there and feel like writing to me about how it was, drop me a line and I’ll post your thoughts on the blog.

Some quick updates on what’s happening in my world:

PAX2013

Some of the swag I picked up at PAX East 2013.

Attended:  PAX East, where I got to play a bunch of games, attend panels, and score swag.

Played:  Injustice: Gods Among Us on the PS3.  I’m about 85% of the way through Story Mode.  Unfortunately at this point, I would not recommend spending the $60 for this title.  While the gameplay itself isn’t bad, the story and overall delivery is some of the poorest I have ever come across in a video game.  If you’re really intent on checking it out, give it a bit of time for the price to drop and just play Versus.  I kind of wish I had taken those three hours playing this game over the weekend and spent them reading comics instead.

Currently Reading:  Hawkguy, catching up on Fables trades, and my usual round of weekly webcomics.  If you aren’t reading JL8, you’re missing out something huge.  Also just picked up A Song of Ice and Fire paperbacks and hope to start making my way through those, because I’m …

… Watching:  Game of Thrones.  Obsessively.

Working on:  My next post for CSBG; wedding planning; day job.

Speaking of which … back to work I go.  ‘Til next time.

Leave a Reply

