It’s a crisis there’s no Crisis!

So apparently Dan Didio said something over Facebook about how none of the Crises ever happened.

Didio on Crisis

Can anyone else make any sense of this?  I must be missing something.  If Final Crisis never happened, then what caused Bruce to “die” and Dick to take up the mantle of Batman?  That’s already been referenced in several books, and Grant Morrison’s run is still technically happening and referencing itself as it goes along, so we know it’s still canon … yet it’s not?  Can anyone help me out here?

He went on to “clarify” (I use the term loosely):

Didio on Crises

Ohhhh, I get it now.

… Except that I don’t.

I would say, given that the entire initiative of the New 52 was to wipe the slate completely clean in order to erase and/or make continuity “less confusing” for new readers, the fact that now we have even MORE of a convoluted backstory to all of this, where neither reader nor editorial apparently knows what’s sticking and what isn’t, means that after only one month of the reboot, it’s already a failure story-wise.  None of this makes any sense.  I can’t say I really expected it to, but it’s making even less sense than I thought it would.  And it’s just plain annoying.  Way to make this stuff up as you go along, guys.

On the bright side, at least Gail Simone still makes me laugh.

Gail Tweet

2 responses

  1. Didio seems to be trying to dodge the fact that this whole relaunch is a corporate money grab. He KNOWS it doesn’t make sense himself. Fire the shadowy bigwigs and let Simone and Johns make all the important decisions!

    10/04/2011 at 3:30 PM

  2. I too wish DC would be a little more forthcoming. I don’t honestly think they know which direction they are heading, or maybe they think secrecy is alluring.

    Since they won’t tell use the time line here is my assessment.

    Detective and Action deal with a very young bat and supes early on the same time line that the rest of the comics belong, just earlier to fill in the major events of the past.

    Nightwing does reference that he was batman for a year, but it could be batmans broken back. I think DC is keeping major events in character histories like the broken back, doomsday, damien, etc.

    I could be wrong, but until they tell me otherwise I have to think something.

    10/04/2011 at 4:07 PM

Leave a Reply

