Poll Results & Miscellaneous

Hey, y’all.  I haven’t gotten my comics in a couple of weeks, so I’m a little behind in the reviews.  I should have some Flashpoint stuff up by next week, if all goes well.  In the meantime, we were in a stalemate in the poll results until someone pushed option number two over the bump into a total of four votes and gave it the lead.  Looks like I’ll be picking up some DC books in September, per your requests.  That said, I am a little surprised that only eight of you voted—given that I know how many page views I’m getting per week, that’s a pretty low number.  Oh well.  Eight of you have spoken, and I shall listen!

Did anyone see Green Lantern last weekend?  I’m hearing some bad reactions to it but I haven’t gotten to the cinema yet.  I wonder if this is one that’s better left for the Netflix queue?

Photo from boston.com article

In other news, I hope you all checked out the comics article on boston.com today.  Worth a read.

That’s all I got for now.  Until next week….

3 responses

  1. Steve

    Don’t pay any attention to the reviews. Green Lantern, the movie is just fine. My son also agrees with my assessment, and doesn’t know why the reviews were so negative. As for the reviewers who say the the plot was incomprehensible….they must have been “drunk”. We found it perfectly easy to understand. While it wasn’t the movie of the decade, it stands up well to all the other superhero movies that have come out by DC and Marvel. Go see it. (But don’t waste money on 3D).

    06/26/2011 at 12:46 AM

    • Thanks, Steve! Wound up seeing it on Saturday for a matinee. It was okay. I really enjoyed the training scenes and the stuff like that, but I thought the “big battle” at the end was pretty weak. It seemed to be over before it began. I thought it was an entertaining “fluff” movie overall and probably shouldn’t be taken too seriously. Definitely not a ground-breaking piece of cinema, though I’m not sure who would have expected it to be.

      06/27/2011 at 9:44 AM

      • Steve

        No it was not groundbreaking. But have any of the movies in the last few years, in your opinion, been groundbreaking?

        07/01/2011 at 10:03 PM

Leave a Reply

