Puh-Puh-Puh-Pull List!

I’m a day late, and there’s a bunch of fun stuff this week!  I’m also a week behind in picking up my sub, so I’ve got DOUBLE COMIC BOOKNESS to catch up on—amazing how easy it is to fall behind.  And after I spent all that sick time catching up on books, too.  Sigh.  A reader’s battle never ends, does it?  For those wondering, PAX East was a blast last weekend—I hope some of y’all went.  I’m working on a review post, but it’s slow-coming.

Anyway.  Here we go!

 

5 Ronin #3 – Number THREE?!  What?!?  When did that happen?  I apparently missed the first two.  What I want to know is whether or not all five of these issues are connected into one over-arching story, or if they’re all standalone.  If it’s the latter, I’m probably only buying the Psylocke issue.  Maybe Wolverine.  We’ll see.  Actually, I changed my mind—they all look interesting.  Hope the writing lives up to my expectations based on the gorgeous covers.

Avengers Children’s Crusade Young Avengers #1 – I’m officially lost on what’s happening here.  Why did they need to come out with another separate mini for the Children’s Crusade storyline?  Why couldn’t this all be contained under one heading?  It makes no sense.  Also, I think they should throw the word “Avengers” in there a couple more times.

Fear Itself Book of the Skull #1 – This isn’t actually on my pull list; I just wanted to comment that it’s the official kickoff of the Fear Itself event, I guess.  You all can let me know how that goes.

Ruse #1Ruse #1 – I read a few preview pages and it looks like mighty good fun.  Don’t let me down, guys!

Uncanny X-Force #5.1 – I’m going to ignore the “Point One” initiative of ridiculousness here and just say that this book is SO GREAT.  Cannot wait to get my hands on it.

Uncanny X-Men Annual #3 – Oh God, I’m sooooo behind.  You know, I like to spend my time reading good X-books, like X-Men Legacy.  I still can’t bring myself to work through Matt Fraction’s wretched issues that are piling up on my desk.

X-Factor #217 – Speaking of good X-books, I’ve read only a handful of issues of X-Factor over the years.  I’ve always wanted to get into this title, but the backlog is too much and I have too little time to go backward into 200+ issues of story.  I’m making an exception for this issue and the one before it, because … well.  Who can guess?  If you’ve been paying attention to the posts on here, you should know exactly why I’m interested.  :-)

 

From last week:

Batgirl #19 – OMG I can’t wait, I LOVE THIS BOOK!

Batman, Inc. #3 – Holy lateness, Batman!

Birds of Prey #10 – OMG I can’t wait, I LOVE THIS BOOK!Birds of Prey #10

Hawkeye: Blind Spot #2 – I read the first issue of this mini, and it was pretty disappointing.  I expected more from Jim McCann.  Think I’ll be leaving this one on the shelf.

Sigil #1 – Writer?  Mike Carey.  ‘Nuff said.

Superboy #5 – Superboy and Kid Flash race!

Wonder Woman #608 – I … you know, I almost wasn’t going to include this.  And realistically, I shouldn’t have, because it’s not actually on my pull list.  But then I saw this solicitation for June where DC says

This is the one you’ve waited for!  The year-long “Odyssey” storyline comes to an earth-shattering conclusion!  Can Diana defeat the powerful forces that destroyed her entire reality?  And even if she wins, she could still lose everything!

and it made me feel dirty and used, and I got a little (more) pissy.  It essentially affirms everything I’ve been saying since day one of this hogwash, that it’s not really about reinventing Diana or making her into a better character; it’s about pulling the typical marketing gimmick and making it sound all-important when in fact, all they’ve done is rob us of a year’s worth of good stories.  <INITIATE GEEK RAGE SEQUENCE>

X-Men Legacy #246 – Thank God for you, Mike Carey.  Thank God for you.

 
That’s all mine; what’s on YOURS?

3 responses

  1. Gordon Dupuis

    My pull list:

    Xombi #1

    Brightest day #22

    The Gulid: Tink one-shot

    Simpsons Comics # 176

    Tiny Titans # 38

    Vampirella #4

    Morning Glories # 8

    I know there’s an eighth but I’m flaking out at the moment.

    03/20/2011 at 3:39 PM

    • I’m really tempted to buy the Guild one-shots, but I’m trade-waiting. I feel like I might cave soon, though, and buy them. Have they been good? Only Vork and Tink so far, right?

      03/20/2011 at 10:15 PM

      • Gordon Dupuis

        Yeppers. Vork and Tink. I felt that Vork’s was a stronger story than Tink’s. Tink has always been the most on-dimensional of the guildies. Bladezz is next and I expect that to be a hoot and a half.

        I hadn’t scene the web series before reading the mini series. The Codex backstory seemed much more serious and sweet than the show. The letters page of Tink hints that there will be more of the Codex mini eventually. (Fingers crossed!)

        03/22/2011 at 9:58 PM

Leave a Reply

