Wuh-Wuh-Wuh-Wednesday!

And that means it’s time for a PULL LIST!

Age of X Alpha #1 – I’m so excited about Mike Carey’s Age of X storyline and can’t wait to read the kickoff here.  It continues in X-Men Legacy as well as New Mutants, I believe—normally I’d be shouting “NO CROSSOVERS!” but I’m actually looking forward to this.  I don’t mind if it spans two or three books—if it means more Carey, I’m for it.

Amazing Spider-Man #650 – I have to get this 2nd printing version because I somehow missed the first one when it came out a few weeks back, so I haven’t been able to read the two issues that followed.  Therefore I don’t know what’s going on with the suit.  No spoilers, please.

Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #152 – Admittedly only reading this for the return of Black Cat.  I don’t really care about the upcoming “Death of Spider-Man” hoo-hah Bendis has got coming up.  The first issue of this arc was pretty decent.

Secret Avengers #9 – I feel like this title is floundering a bit with the last issue or two; I’m not sure why.  Maybe because it all centers around Shang-Chi and I’m finding him kind of boring at the moment.  Sticking with this to get to the next arc, which I’m hoping will pick things up.  Also, apparently someone needs to re-teach Mike Deodato how to draw a face.

New Avengers #8 – I don’t read Bendis’ Avengers on a regular basis; I pick it up here and there when I think it looks interesting.  I tend to be more drawn to “character-driven” issues full of dialogue and interaction, as opposed to “action” issues that are just page after page of explosions.  Not that I don’t like a good explosion, but … you know.  I like to get into what makes characters tick, and this looks like it may be a good one.  I suppose the preview pages of Luke and Jessica out for dinner could be misleading; maybe there will be an explosion at the end of the issue.  Then I can’t complain.

Uncanny X-Force #4 – Love, love, love this book.

Uncanny X-Men #532 – I’m about five issues behind on this title.  Greg Land … *gouges out eyeballs*

X-Men #7 – Wow, is this up to #7 already?  I think I left off on #3.  Has anyone been reading this?

Cursed Pirate Girl TPB CoverCursed Pirate Girl TP – I totally missed this story when it came out in single issues; I basically didn’t know it existed until last week and now I’m hearing about it everywhere.  I like pirates and I like pretty art, so it’s a near certainty I’ll like this book.  I hear the story’s amazing.

Other Stuff, Maybes, Borrows, Shelf-Reads:

X-23 #5 – I love the art on this book.  I could take or leave Gambit, though.  Marjorie Liu doesn’t let me down often.

Green Arrow #8 – I don’t know why I’m still reading this, honestly.  I keep waiting for something … anything to happen that will actually make the plot MOVE somewhere.  I may give it another one or two issues before I drop it.

Wonder Woman #606 – <Insert sound of car crash here>

Detective Comics #873 – Feels like five issues of this have come out since the last issue of Batman, Inc.  Where’s Batman, Inc. #3?  Did I blindly miss it somewhere?

Teen Titans #91 – Just ‘cause I like Damian.

Fantastic Four #587 – I’m actually not reading this; I don’t read FF, and the news has already spoiled which member is biting the dust.  But for those of you who are planning to pick it up, I hear there have been some surprise packaged issues popping up with Jonathan Hickman’s original signature on the cover, so maybe you’ll get lucky.

That’s all, kids.  What are YOU picking up?

3 responses

  1. Death of WHAT?!?!!?

    Bendis better not be killing off my little spidey bud.

    Ultimate Spiderman is only mainstream comic I have read consistently for a few years with no interruptions and he is going to kill off….oh my God I am so pissed right now.

    This better be a stupid “death of” arc like Batman and Superman had.

    I am going down to Marvel right now to talk to this guy.

    01/27/2011 at 12:39 PM

  2. Thanks for the link. I am sure it will be much like all the other deaths in the past with a dramatic return. The storyline has just been way overdone.
    Have Spidey abducted by aliens

    01/27/2011 at 4:24 PM

Leave a Reply

