It’s New Comics Day! Yay!

Since I fear my constant bellowing over female-driven titles is giving you guys a skewed perspective as far as what is actually in my reading pile, I thought I’d do a quick “What I’m Reading” rundown post.  I am a couple of weeks behind on my comics, what with the holiday rush coming up and the exhaustion of 7:00 a.m. – 7:00 p.m. work days, but I’ve been trying to keep up during my commutes.  Please feel free to chime in with your own reading lists!

Batman, Inc. – Post on this coming soon!

Batman: The Return – Loved this one-shot.  Very intrigued.  Lots of questions.  Want more.

Avengers: Children’s Crusade – So torn!  Every issue of this mini has been spectacular so far, but its chronic lateness is killing me and kind of makes me not want to support it.

T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents #1T.H.U.N.D.E.R. Agents – Enjoyed the first issue a lot, having never read the original book.  Very much on board for now.  That Frank Quitely cover is lovely and a great homage.

Halcyon – Haven’t actually read it yet … hoping to make it to this one on the train ride home later.

Amazing Spider-Man – I gotta be honest, I rarely read this book.  But I hear Dan Slott’s got a ton of awesome stuff lined up for his run that kicked off with the last issue, so it kind of piqued my interest.  Also, the Black Cat cameo made me happy—I want to see Black Cat on the Avengers alongside Cap and Spidey, I would geek out pretty hardcore for that.

She-Hulks – No idea what’s going on here.  Thought this was the launch of a new ongoing, but apparently it got busted back down to a four-issue mini-series.  No idea who Lyra is or anything—haven’t read any Shulkie since her last Dan Slott/Peter David series got canned (which made me sad).

Scarlet – Ehhh … kind of like it, kind of don’t … still reading.

Daken: Dark Wolverine – Marjorie Liu and Daniel Way = Win.  Also really liking the art on this book.  Haven’t gotten to the latest issue yet.

X-23 – An issue behind.  Enjoying it so far.

Uncanny X-Force – Second issue comes out today and I can’t wait to pick it up!

So, there’s my short list of just a few things from recent weeks.  Any suggestions?  What recent releases SHOULD I be reading that I’m not?  Opinions, comments, questions welcome.

5 responses

  1. You’re disappointed in Scarlet, too? I keep reading reviews about how this a return to the Bendis of Alias or Daredevil, but I just find it underwhelming and ugly. Maleev also disappointed me on Spider-Woman; it could be the way he colors his work.

    11/24/2010 at 7:16 PM

    • I liked Spider-Woman a lot more than I like this; I don’t know, I’m just not that psyched about this book and I’m not even sure what it is that’s disappointing me. It’s not bad really, but I agree with you–it shouldn’t be looked at like it’s Bendis’ best work.

      11/26/2010 at 11:05 PM

  2. Gordon Dupuis

    This weeks reading list: (Besides the three and a half short boxes of backlog I’m working on!) The Magdelena, Brightest Day Green Arrow, Dracula The Company of Monsters, Avengers the Infinity Gauntlet (Utterly stupid kiddy stuff but it’s funny and had Thanos and Dr. Doom), Batman Incorporated (I wanted to compare notes), VAmpirella (Female objectification fan boy garbage but I had to see what all the fuss was about), Madame Xanadu, The Simpson’s Winter Wingding, Eternal Descent (The heroine looks like a hooker but you have to like angels playing metal), Futurama Comics, and Bedtime Stories for Impressionable Children.

    Do you know if It’s true that they’re killing of Oracle? If it was anyone but Gail Simone doing it I’d be very pissed.

    11/27/2010 at 7:51 PM

  3. I don’t know anything about them killing Oracle … I’d like to think they wouldn’t, considering her role in Batman: The Return and the fact she’s under Gail’s wing again in Birds of Prey. To say I’d be devastated if they killed her is an understatement.

    The backlog of comics is killing me, too–I’m like two years behind on Secret Six, House of Mystery (though I hear I’m not missing anything here), and The Walking Dead, which I desperately need to catch up on.

    What’s “Bedtime Stories for Impressionable Children”? It sounds kind of awesome.

    11/29/2010 at 12:32 AM

    • Gordon Dupuis

      Bedtime stories is a black and white horror/comedy anthology title. The stories are stand alone and barely tied together with a framing sequence. The art ranges from terrible to fairly good. The stories range from “hmm…ok.” to very good. If you pick it up or leaf through it check out the last story. I’ll most Over all I’ll likely buy issue two when it comes out.

      12/01/2010 at 5:58 PM

Leave a Reply

